What is the syllabus of SSC CGL exam


SSC CGL [Combined Graduate Level]

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) holds the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Exam for the appointment of candidates in Grade “B” and Grade “C” category posts at various Government Ministries, Departments, and Offices. This exam is conducted by the "Government of India".

Eligibilities For SSC CGL Exam

Some conditions are applied for the SSC CGL examination. The candidates can read all conditions very carefully which is mentioned below one by one:

  • The candidates must have a Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognized university/ institution to become eligible for the exam.
  • Ages limitation only 18 to 27 years old candidates are eligible to apply for the SSC CGL exam.
  • The candidate must be a citizen of India (Citizenship Mandatory).

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

The SSC Combined Graduate Level exam has been divided into four-tier. In which tier I and tier II are computer-based exams, while in tier III and IV, job applicants take up a descriptive paper and a computer proficiency test or skill test & document verification.

The entire process of registration and communication will be online through the official website of SSC CGL. Aspirants must qualify for each phase of the SSC CGL exam to go on to the next one, before being finally selected.

  • Tier-I: Written Examination [Multiple Choice Questions – Computer Based Online Test]
  • Tier-II: Written Examination [Multiple Choice Questions – Computer Based Online Test]
  • Tier-III: Descriptive Test [Pen and Paper Mode]
  • Tier-IV: Data Entry Skill Test, Computer Proficiency Test(Wherever Applicable), and Document Verification

Question Patterns of SSC CGL Tier Exam

 The tier-I and tier-II exam is objective exam, which will be conducted online.

Quantitative Abilities

  • Number of Questions: 100
  • Total Marks: 200
  • Time Duration: 2 Hours

English Language & Comprehension

  • Number of Questions: 200
  • Total Marks: 200
  • Time Duration: 2 Hours


  • Number of Questions: 100
  • Total Marks: 200
  • Time Duration: 2 Hours

General Studies (Finance & Economics)

  • Number of Questions: 100
  • Total Marks: 200
  • Time Duration: 2 Hours

Patterns of SSC CGL Tier III Exam

  • Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application, etc.)
  • Total Marks: 100 Marks
  • Time Duration: 60 Minutes

Patterns of SSC CGL Tier IV

SSC CGL Tier-IV exam is divided into three sections including DEST (Data Entry Speed Test), CPT (Computer Proficiency Test), and Document Verification

  1. DEST (Data Entry Speed Test): Qualifying candidate skill test for all the posts, other than Compiler. It is held to test the typing speed of the candidate.
  2. CPT (Computer Proficiency Test): SSC will hold CPT in three modules - Word Processing, Spreadsheet, and Generation of Slides.
  3. Document Verification: Final selection would be document verification

SSC CGL Job Salary Chart

Under Grade 'B' posts, a candidate is paid under the pay band-2 in the pay scale of Rs. 9300 to 34800 with grade pay of Rs. 5400, Rs. 4800, and Rs. 4600.

  • Pay Level-4 (Rs 25500 to 81100)
  • Pay Level-5 (Rs 29200 to 92300)
  • Pay Level-6 (Rs 35400 to 112400)
  • Pay Level-7 (Rs 44900 to 142400)
  • Pay Level-8 (Rs 47600 to 151100)

Email Us: advertise@gdatamart.com

Donate Us: Support to GDATAMART

LifeStyle & Fun

© 2024 GDATAMART.COM (All Rights Reserved)